Expanding and enriching cultural life

Gala event will take place April 27
Ellen Arlinsky, Mary Bloom, Kate McGarry - Helen DeVos Legacy Award Honorees 2024. SCMC courtesy photo.

St. Cecilia Music Center has announced the distinguished recipients of the 2024 Helen DeVos Legacy Award: Ellen Arlinsky, Mary Bloom, and Kate McGarry. With a cumulative tenure of over 50 years on the board, these remarkable women have played pivotal roles in shaping the vibrant cultural landscape of Greater Grand Rapids.

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center played its final concert of the 2023-2024 season at SCMC’s Royce Auditorium on April 18. Pictured are Chad Hoopes and Bella Hristova; violists Matthew Lipman and Timothy Ridout and cellist Sihao He.Photo by Lisa Enos.

During the transformative decades of the 1980s and 90s, Ellen Arlinsky, Mary Bloom, and Kate McGarry spearheaded initiatives that propelled St. Cecilia Music Center into a new era of innovation and professionalism. Mary and Kate each assumed the presidency of the board, while Ellen’s steadfast dedication earned her the distinction of being the longest-serving board member in SCMC’s storied history, a remarkable 30-year tenure and counting. Together, they orchestrated the largest capital campaign the Center had seen to date, facilitating crucial renovations and ushering in organizational enhancements that streamlined processes, expanded outreach, and revitalized marketing efforts.

Their indelible contributions will be celebrated at the Annual Helen DeVos Legacy Award Gala Event, set to take place at St. Cecilia Music Center on Saturday, April 27, 2024. The evening promises a delightful blend of chamber music performances in the Royce Auditorium, featuring a trio of SCMC Board members—Sookkyung Cho on piano, Chris Martin on violin, and Dr. Alicia Córdoba on oboe. Renowned jazz pianist Xavier Davis, an associate professor at the MSU College of Music, will also grace the stage with his captivating melodies. Following the performances, guests will indulge in a sumptuous Gala Dinner before gathering in SCMC’s elegant Dexter Ballroom for the Awards Ceremony, honoring the exemplary contributions of Ellen Arlinsky, Mary Bloom, and Kate McGarry to the cultural tapestry of our community.

Facebook Comments