Grand Rapids Symphony Performing ‘Celebrating Women’

Women will be at the heart of an upcoming concert in Grand Rapids.
Ava Ordman trombonist

Women will be at the heart of an upcoming concert in Grand Rapids.

The Grand Rapids Symphony will present “The 20/21st Century Concert: Celebrating Women” on May 3 at 8 p.m. at St. Cecilia Music Center downtown.

All the music was composed by women, except the performance of guest soloist Ava Ordman, who was the principal trombonist of the Grand Rapids Symphony for 24 seasons, from the 1970s-1990s.

Directed by John Varineau, the Grand Rapids Symphony will perform music by American composers Ruth Crawford Seeger and Joan Tower, as well as British composer Anna Clyne and other female composers.

Tickets to the concert are online.

Photo: Ava Ordman. Courtesy Grand Rapids Symphony.

Facebook Comments

Previous articleDowntown is Getting a Dog Park
Next articleCould You Be a Street Performer?
Danielle Nelson is the staff researcher who compiles the weekly lists. She also was a Grand Rapids Business Journal/Grand Rapids Magazine staff reporter who covered real estate and construction, architecture, agriculture, sports, law, education, travel and tourism, energy and sustainability, and arts and entertainment. Email Danielle at dnelson at grbj dot com. Follow her on Twitter @Dan_Nels