January Series Brings Hot Topics to Calvin College

January Series at Calvin College

Every January, Calvin College invites the community to attend its free January Series. For 15-days, speakers from across the country visit Calvin and provide thought-provoking lectures on some of the most pertinent topics being discussed right now.

The 2019 series takes place on weekdays from Jan. 3–23, from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. Keep in mind that the 1,000-seat Covenant Fine Arts Center Auditorium often fills and will sometimes overflow into video rooms for presentations of the January Series. The presentations begin promptly at 12:30 p.m. at which time the main floor doors are closed and late arrivals will be directed to the balcony if seats are available or to video overflow. You can also watch the speakers via live audio streaming. Find out more here.

2019 January Series Speakers

Thursday, Jan. 3 – Todd Cioffi
The Transformative & Redemptive Power of (a Christian) Education

Friday, Jan. 4 – Arthur C. Brooks
Bring America Together

Monday, Jan. 7 – Jimmy Lin
Finally, Some Good News About Cancer

Tuesday, Jan. 8 – Kara Powell
Growing Young: Helping Young People Discover & Love the Church

Wednesday, Jan. 9 – Mariela Shaker
Finding Refuge on the Stage

Thursday, Jan. 10 – Barbara Pierce Bush
A Moderated Conversation with Barbara Pierce Bush

Friday, Jan. 11 – Craig Detweiler
Searching for the Image of God in a Digital Age

Monday, Jan. 14 – Nicholas Kristof
Lessons from 30 Years of Covering the World

Tuesday, Jan. 15 – Leland Melvin
Chasing Space: An Astronaut’s Story of Grit, Grace & Second Chances

Wednesday, Jan. 16 – William Powers
Sustainability, Happiness & the “Slow” Movement

Thursday, Jan. 17 – Erik W. Carter
Incomplete Without You: The Church & People with Disabilities

Friday, Jan. 18 – Ruth Carter
The Art of Storytelling Through Costume Design

Monday, Jan. 21 – Willie Jennings
Dreaming the End of Racial America

Tuesday, Jan. 22 – Rachel Denhollander
A Time to Speak: Addressing Justice & Forgiveness

Wednesday, Jan. 23 – Mary Robinson
Climate Justice: Hope, Resilience & the Fight for a Sustainable Future

0
like
2
love
0
haha
0
wow
0
sad
0
angry